query re: doing a job i'm not qualified to perform ok, i'm a contractor employed by a company and still have been performing a job function for historyweeks which will i'm not qualified to carry out, and am experiencing it. i've been impotence out recently by just my manager for the purpose of not being up to snuff on this deliverable. accurate hunting rifles accurate hunting rifles if my spouse and i resign, can i collect unemployment due to this reason? thanks. absolutely no, you can't get unemployment after period you especially can't have it if you decide because you're unqualified. you're only designed to get it should you be to resign because of them. i've been underneath contractor for over a year i was hired to do function X, that we did for over a year, but then have been asked to function function Z. If you're a contractor () you don't.... qualify for UI regardless of what because you pay your own taxes and it's not necessary to pay into UI insurance. If you happen to be a W staff where taxes are taken out of your checks it means your employer compensates financially into UI insurance plan. There are times when it's possible to quit and acquire UI however, that is notof individuals. If your interviewer fires you for not having the ability to do a task or for every other reason where you are not qualified to try the task, you'll be able to collect UI (if W employee only), althou colchester weather report colchester weather report gh not if you quit as a consequence of it. Your state's USER INTERFACE site should explain when it's possible to qualify for UI. not independent i'm employed by a consulting firm. i'm a Watts employee. thanks for that info. careful the way you use the timeframe 'contractor' then.. You shouldn't refer to yourself as being a 'contractor' (). You're an 'employee' (W) There's a huge difference throughout and W workers/rights/laws. If so, if they terminate you, you are entitled to UI benefits if you meet all for the other requirements w